

Neptune Township ~ Zoning Board Re-Organization Meeting Minutes Wednesday January 8, 2014 at 7:30 PM Municipal Complex, 2nd Floor, 25 Neptune Blvd.

ATTENDANCE:

<u>Present:</u> Paul Dunlap, William Frantz, James Gilligan, Dianna Harris, Thomas Healy, Clifford Johnson, Frances Keel, Charles Moore, Joe Sears, Monica Kowalski, Esq. – Board Attorney, Matt Shafai - Board Engineer, Jennifer Beahm - Board Planner, and Torro Reporting, LLC.

Absent: Barbara Bascom, Roger Eichenour

OPENING:

Meeting called to order by James Gilligan at 7:30 PM. The public was advised of the fire exits.

REORGANIZATION:

Monica Kowalski, Esq. asks that somebody from the Subcommittee that reviewed the bid proposals for bid professionals submitted to the Township Clerk make a motion to appoint the following:

Appointment of Board Attorney for 2014

Paul Dunlap offered the name of Monica Kowalski, Esq. as attorney to the Board of Adjustment.

Moved by Paul Dunlap and second by William Frantz

Absent from vote – Barbara Bascom, Roger Eichenour

Voted Yes – Paul Dunlap, William Frantz, James Gilligan, Dianna Harris, Thomas Healy, Clifford Johnson, Frances Keel, Charles Moore, Joe Sears

Appointment of Board of Adjustment Engineer for 2014

William Frantz offered the name of Matt Shafai of Leon S. Avakian, Inc. as Engineer to the Board of Adjustment.

Moved by William Frantz and second by Paul Dunlap

Absent from vote – Barbara Bascom, Roger Eichenour

Voted Yes – Paul Dunlap, William Frantz, James Gilligan, Dianna Harris, Thomas Healy, Clifford Johnson, Frances Keel, Charles Moore, Joe Sears

Monica Kowalski, Esq. explains that Jennifer Beahm of CME Associates is the Board Planner *De facto* since the Zoning Board assumes the Planner as appointed by the Planning Board; however, the Planning Board has not reorganized for 2014; therefore, the Planner has not be appointed and/or reappointed to the Board yet.

Monica Kowalski, Esq. reiterates Resolution #14-21 of the Township Committee accepting Cynthia Suarez's resignation as Alternate #1 and appointing Dianna Harris and Barbara Bascom to four-year terms expiring December 31, 2017, Clifford Johnson as Alternate #1 to an unexpired two-year term expiring December 31, 2014, Frances M. Keel as Alternate #2 to a two-year term expiring December 31,

2015, Charles Moore as Alternate #3 to an unexpired two-year term expiring December 31, 2014, and Roger Eichenour as Alternate #4 to a two-year term expiring December 31, 2015.

New Board Members are sworn in with the exception of Barbara Bascom and Roger Eichenour as they were not present.

The Board asks for a small recess at 7:45 PM so they may enter into an Executive Session.

Board returns from Executive at 8:10 PM, roll call is taken and all Board Members are still present.

The following elections were made and approved:

- **ZB14/02** Election of Chairperson: Paul Dunlap was offered the position for 2014. Moved by James Gilligan and seconded by William Frantz. Motion was adopted and approved by everyone present.
- **ZB14/03** Election of 1st Vice Chair: James Gilligan was offered the position for 2014. Moved by Paul Dunlap and seconded by William Frantz. Motion was adopted and approved by everyone present.
- **ZB14/04** Election of 2nd Vice Chair: Joe Sears was offered the position for 2014. Moved by Paul Dunlap and seconded by Thomas Healy. Motion was adopted and approved by everyone present.
- **ZB14/05** Designate Official Newspapers for publication of legal notices for 2014 Moved by Thomas Healy and seconded by Joe Sears. Motion was adopted and approved by everyone present.

RESOLUTION MEMORIALIZED:

ZB14/01 – Establish the 2014 Zoning Board of Adjustment Regular and Special Meeting dates, commencement time, and location of hearings.

Motion to approve and adopt: James Gilligan Second by: William Frantz

Those in favor: Paul Dunlap, William Frantz, James Gilligan, Dianna Harris, Thomas Healy,

Clifford Johnson, Frances Keel, Charles Moore, Joe Sears

DISCUSSIONS:

None.

ADJOURNMENT:

Motion to adjourn the Re-Organization Meeting and to open the Regular Meeting at 8:15 PM made by James Gilligan and seconded by Thomas Healy. All in favor.

Minutes submitted by Kristie Armour, Administrative Officer - Board of Adjustment.